Indian Railways Recorded The Highest 6,015 Kilometer Electrification


According to Railway Minister Piyush Goyal, the national transporter has been at the forefront of transforming the rail network by upgrading passenger services, enhancing freight performance, expanding connectivity across the country as well as strengthening the fight against the Covid-19 pandemic. Despite the Covid-19 pandemic, the national transporter recorded the highest ever electrification of sections across the Indian Railways network in fiscal 2020-21.

During the financial year 2020-21, Indian Railways has logged the highest ever electrification of sections covering 6,015 Route Kilometer (RKM) in a single year, surpassing the previous highest of 5,276 RKM achieved in the year 2018-19. During the period between May 2019 to March 2021, the total Broad Gauge (BG) routes of 10,364 RKM was commissioned.

The latest broad gauge network of Indian Railways including Konkan Railway is 64,689 RKM, out of which 45,881 RKM i.e. 71 percent have been electrified by 31 March 2021.

Also, Read This: Indian Railways Infrastructure Spend To Reach Record Rs 1.6 Lakh Crores

The Railway Minister further stated that end-to-end connectivity was provided on many important railway routes by electrification of missing links along with the first time Indian Railways connectivity to the North-East part of the country. The national transporter has planned to fully electrify its rail tracks by December 2023. . Earlier, the ministry had said that the total rail electrification would contribute to “net-zero” emissions by the year 2030.

A lot of emphasis has been given to railway electrification in recent years with a view to reduce the nation’s dependence on imported petroleum-based energy and to enhance the country’s energy security, with a vision of providing an eco-friendly, faster, and energy-efficient mode of transportation.

Following are some major sections electrified by the Indian Railways

  • Mumbai – Howrah section via Jabalpur
  • Delhi – Darbhanga – Jaynagar section
  • Gorakhpur – Varanasi section via Aunrihar
  • Jabalpur – Nainpur – Gondia – Ballarshah section
  • Chennai – Trichy section
  • Indore – Guna – Gwalior – Amritsar section
  • Delhi – Jaipur – Udaipur section
  • New Delhi – New Cooch Behar – Srirampur Assam section via Patna and Katihar
  • Ajmer – Howrah section
  • Mumbai – Marwar section
  • Delhi – Moradabad – Tanakpur section



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here